Home » Archive by Author

Articles by Johnny Funcheap

Johnny is a self-described cheap-aholic who hunts down the free-er side of San Francisco. He loves street fairs, free concerts in the park, and anywhere that offers free food. Johnny has been featured on KQED's Forum, CBS's Eye on the Bay and is a contributor to the San Francisco Bay Guardian, KFOG and KGO 810 AM. Johnny is the founder of FunCheapSF.com

Thursday, June 28

Saturday, June 30

Sunday, July 1

M. Ward + Thao & The Get Down Stay Down Free Outdoor Concert | Stern Grove Festival
Sunday, July 1 – 2:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Free, but donations are appreciated
M. Ward + Thao & The Get Down Stay Down Free Outdoor Concert | Stern Grove Festival

Merge Records recording artist M. Ward has released a string of acclaimed solo albums in addition to five LPs with Zooey Deschanel in their duo outfit She & Him. M. Ward’s latest album, More Rain, is evidence of the lauded singer-songwriter and producer’s ability to …

Sunday, July 8

“Mexican Institute of Sound” Free Stern Grove Festival Concert | SF
Sunday, July 8 – 2:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Free, but donations are appreciated
"Mexican Institute of Sound" Free Stern Grove Festival Concert | SF

The Mexican Institute of Sound is the project name of DJ and producer Camilo Lara. A native of Mexico City, Lara is known for his work as a music consultant for the Disney movie, “Coco.”
At Stern Grove Festival, the Mexican Institute of Sound’s perform will …

Sunday, July 15

Stern Grove Festival: Indian Grammy-Winner “Anoushka Shankar” | SF
Sunday, July 15 – 2:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Free, but donations are appreciated
Stern Grove Festival: Indian Grammy-Winner "Anoushka Shankar" | SF

Sitar player and composer Anoushka Shankar is a singular figure in the Indian classical and progressive global music scenes. Her dynamic and spiritual musicality has garnered several prestigious accolades, including five GRAMMY® Award nominations.
Anoushka studied exclusively from the age of nine under her father and …

Saturday, July 28

Sunday, August 5

Saturday, August 25

Sunday, September 2

Saturday, September 8

Thursday, September 27

Saturday, September 29

Sunday, October 7

Saturday, October 13

Saturday, October 27

Sunday, November 4

Saturday, November 24

Saturday, December 1

Sunday, December 2