Home » Archive by Author

Articles by Johnny Funcheap

Johnny is a self-described cheap-aholic who hunts down the free-er side of San Francisco. He loves street fairs, free concerts in the park, and anywhere that offers free food. Johnny has been featured on KQED's Forum, CBS's Eye on the Bay and is a contributor to the San Francisco Bay Guardian, KFOG and KGO 810 AM. Johnny is the founder of FunCheapSF.com

Saturday, April 21

Win Tix: SF’s Newest Concert Venue “August Hall” | Prize Pack
Saturday, April 21 – 9:00 pm | Cost: WIN
SF's Newest Concert Venue Contest Ended

Opening in April 2018, you’re invited to August Hall, re-establishing a historic venue near Union Square. The former Ruby Skye space originally built in 1911 has been revamped, refurbished and turned into SF’s newest 1,000 capacity music venue with a killer new d&b audiotechnik sound system.
Read more …

Wednesday, April 25

Thursday, April 26

Saturday, April 28

CANCELLED: 16mm Movie Night: Vintage Monster & Horror Movies | Nob Hill
Saturday, April 28 – 6:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Bring cash for food and drinks

This event is no longer taking place as per the promoter.

Sunday, April 29

Thursday, May 3

Asian Art Museum’s Zen Buddhism “Tasting Menu” | SF Asian Art Museum's Zen Buddhism

Dan Zigmond, author of “Buddha’s Diet: The Ancient Art of Losing Weight Without Losing Your Mind,” discusses both his experience of becoming a Zen priest and the benefits of Buddha’s diet.
Zigmond will be joined by chef Annie Somerville of Greens Restaurant to talk about what …

Friday, May 4

Sunday, May 6

Wednesday, May 9

Friday, May 25

Win Tix: BottleRock 2018: Sold Out Passes | Napa Valley
Friday, May 25 – 11:00 am | Cost: WIN | Napa Valley Expo
BottleRock 2018: Sold Out Passes | Napa ValleyEnter to Win

BottleRock Napa Valley is an epic 3-day music festival with wine, food & craft brew on Memorial Day Weekend. This year’s lineup includes Muse, The Killers, Bruno Mars, The Chainsmokers, Snoop Dogg, Halsey, Thievery Corporation, Billy Idol and countless more. That’s 80+ bands on four stages, celebrity …

Saturday, May 26

Friday, June 1

Sunday, June 3

Wednesday, June 13

Saturday, June 16

Saturday, June 30

Sunday, July 8

Saturday, July 28

Sunday, August 5

Saturday, August 25

Sunday, September 2

Saturday, September 8

Thursday, September 27

Saturday, September 29