Home » *Top Pick*, In Person, Thanksgiving

SF’s Great Highway Closed to Vehicles on Thanksgiving (Nov. 25-28)

Dang! This event has already taken place.
>> Want to see our Top Picks for this week instead?
Thursday, November 25, 2021 - All Day | Cost: FREE
The Great Highway (SF) | San Francisco, CA


Perfect for burning some calories either before or after a big turkey dinner, talk a walk, stroll or bike ride down SF’s Great Highway on Thanksgiving.

The Great Highway will be closed to vehicles for the observed Thanksgiving holiday on Thursday, November 25 beginning at 6 a.m. through Friday, November 26 and the weekend. It will return to vehicle access on Monday, November 29 at 6 a.m.

The Great Highway is a spectacular park promenade along Ocean Beach providing safe play space on wide roads for pedestrians, cyclists, and all other forms of recreation, for all visitors on weekends:

  • Fridays: starting at noon
  • Saturdays – all day
  • Sundays – all day
  • Mondays, ending at 6 a.m.
  • Holidays:
    • New Years Day – Friday, January 1, 2021
    • Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day –  Friday, January 15, 2021
    • Presidents’ Day – Monday, February 15, 2021
    • Memorial Day –  Monday, May 31, 2021
    • Independence Day –  Monday, July 5, 2021
    • Labor Day –  Monday, September 6, 2021
    • Indigenous Peoples Day, Italian American Heritage Day – Monday, October 11, 2021
    • Veterans Day – Thursday, November 11, 2021
    • Thanksgiving – Thursday, November 25 and Friday, November 26, 2021
    • Christmas Eve and Christmas Day – Friday, December 24, 2021 and Saturday, December 25, 2021
    • New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day – Friday, December 31, 2021 and Saturday, January 1, 2022

Disclaimer: Please double check event information with the event organizer as events can be canceled, details can change after they are added to our calendar, and errors do occur.


Event Details


Cost: FREE
Categories: *Top Pick*, In Person, Thanksgiving
Venue: The Great Highway (SF)
Address: San Francisco, CA