Home » Archive by Category

Literature

Wednesday, May 27

Pop-Up Magazine’s Spring Issue “At Home”: Stories, Music, Animation, Art and More
Wednesday, May 27 – 6:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Pop-Up Magazine's Spring Issue "At Home": Stories, Music, Animation, Art and More
They are back! And this time, they are bringing the show to you. Join us for the all-new Spring Issue: At Home featuring true, never-before-told stories paired with an original score, art, animation, and more. Spring Issue: At Home premieres for free on May 27 at ...

Wednesday, June 3

“Cuppy & Stew” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Wednesday, June 3 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"Cuppy & Stew" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
On June 3rd, join Eric Goodman for a discussion of his new novel “Cuppy and Stew.” About Cuppy and Stew: In November, 1955, a young man in Denver, Colorado, hid twenty-five sticks of dynamite and a crude timer in his mother’s suitcase. In what the FBI would ...

Wednesday, June 10

The Setup’s “A Funny Thing Happened” Storytelling Night | Beer Basement
The Setup's "A Funny Thing Happened" Storytelling Night | Beer Basement

The Second Wednesday of every Month, The Setup presents“A Funny Thing Happened”, a night of world class storytelling. You’ll be joining bestselling authors, Emmy-Award winning writers, TED speakers, stars of The Moth Radio hour, Snap Judgment and accomplished comedic voices in an intimate setting right ...Monthly

Thursday, June 11

Thursday Night Poem Jam | SF Main Library
Thursday, June 11 – 6:00 pm | Cost: FREE | San Francisco Main Public Library

Join San Francisco Main Public Library with talented poets for a poetry jam. The Main Library’s monthly Poem Jam poetry reading series, moderated by Kim Shuck, takes place on Thursdays at 6 pm in the Main Library. Thursday Night Poem Jam Every 2nd Thursday | ...Monthly

Saturday, June 13

Saturday Write Fever: Insta-Plays Written & Performed | SF
Saturday, June 13 – 8:30 pm | Cost: FREE | EXIT Theatre
Saturday Write Fever: Insta-Plays Written & Performed | SF

Every second Saturday of the month, EXIT Theatre invites writers, actors, directors, theater creators and theater audiences alike to a free evening of quick script-making and flash-fried performance. Join in for: 8:30 pm: Mixer 9 pm: Writing sprint where writers have 30 minutes to generate original monologues based ...Monthly

Tuesday, June 16

“A Burning” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Tuesday, June 16 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"A Burning" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
On June 16th, join Megha Majumdar as she discusses her debut novel A Burning. About A Burning: For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise–to the middle class, to political power, to fame ...

Monday, June 22

Silent Book Club: Book Lovers’ Monthly Reading | San Jose
Monday, June 22 – 6:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Free, but an RSVP is required.
| Hedley Club
Silent Book Club: Book Lovers' Monthly Reading | San Jose

Silent Book Club is a monthly meetup of reading afficionados. Bring yourself and what you’re currently reading to The Hedley Club. Free, but an RSVP is requested. The link can sometimes be hard to find. You can sometimes find it in these two sites: Silent Book ...Monthly

Wednesday, June 24

“The Inner Coast” New Essay Collection Discussion | Green Apple Books
Wednesday, June 24 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"The Inner Coast" New Essay Collection Discussion | Green Apple Books
On June 24th, join Donovan Hohn for the discussion of his new essay collection “The Inner Coast.” About The Inner Coast: Prize-winning essays on our changing place in the natural world by the best-selling author of Moby-Duck. Writing in the grand American tradition of Annie Dillard and Barry ...

Wednesday, July 8

The Setup’s “A Funny Thing Happened” Storytelling Night | Beer Basement
The Setup's "A Funny Thing Happened" Storytelling Night | Beer Basement

The Second Wednesday of every Month, The Setup presents“A Funny Thing Happened”, a night of world class storytelling. You’ll be joining bestselling authors, Emmy-Award winning writers, TED speakers, stars of The Moth Radio hour, Snap Judgment and accomplished comedic voices in an intimate setting right ...Monthly

Thursday, July 9

Thursday Night Poem Jam | SF Main Library
Thursday, July 9 – 6:00 pm | Cost: FREE | San Francisco Main Public Library

Join San Francisco Main Public Library with talented poets for a poetry jam. The Main Library’s monthly Poem Jam poetry reading series, moderated by Kim Shuck, takes place on Thursdays at 6 pm in the Main Library. Thursday Night Poem Jam Every 2nd Thursday | ...Monthly

Saturday, July 11

Saturday Write Fever: Insta-Plays Written & Performed | SF
Saturday, July 11 – 8:30 pm | Cost: FREE | EXIT Theatre
Saturday Write Fever: Insta-Plays Written & Performed | SF

Every second Saturday of the month, EXIT Theatre invites writers, actors, directors, theater creators and theater audiences alike to a free evening of quick script-making and flash-fried performance. Join in for: 8:30 pm: Mixer 9 pm: Writing sprint where writers have 30 minutes to generate original monologues based ...Monthly

Wednesday, August 12

The Setup’s “A Funny Thing Happened” Storytelling Night | Beer Basement
The Setup's "A Funny Thing Happened" Storytelling Night | Beer Basement

The Second Wednesday of every Month, The Setup presents“A Funny Thing Happened”, a night of world class storytelling. You’ll be joining bestselling authors, Emmy-Award winning writers, TED speakers, stars of The Moth Radio hour, Snap Judgment and accomplished comedic voices in an intimate setting right ...Monthly

Saturday, August 29

Independent Book Store Day 2020
Saturday, August 29 – All Day | Cost: FREE | San Francisco Bay Area
Independent Book Store Day 2020

Independent Bookstore Day will take place at more than 400 bookstores nationwide. For one day, and one day only, limited, unique books and art pieces will be available in more than 400 independent stores across the country. Independent bookstores are not just stores, they’re community centers and ...

Thursday, October 8

Litquake 2020: SF’s Literary Festival Free Events | Oct. 8-17
Thursday, October 8 – All Day | Cost: FREE | San Francisco
Litquake 2020: SF's Literary Festival Free Events | Oct. 8-17

San Francisco’s legendary annual Litquake festival features hundreds of authors, poets and journalists in a myriad of separate events throughout the Bay Area. It’s all meant to foster interest in literature for people of all ages, perpetuate a sense of literary community, and provide a vibrant forum for Bay Area ...

Saturday, October 17

Final Day Litquake2020: San Francisco’s 10-Day Literature Festival
Saturday, October 17 – All Day | Cost: FREE | San Francisco
Final Day Litquake2020: San Francisco's 10-Day Literature Festival

San Francisco’s legendary annual Litquake festival features hundreds of authors, poets and journalists in a myriad of separate events throughout the Bay Area. It’s all meant to foster interest in literature for people of all ages, perpetuate a sense of literary community, and provide a vibrant forum for Bay Area ...