Home » Archive by Category

Literature

Wednesday, September 30

Francine J. Harris New Book: Here is the Sweet Hand on Zoom
Wednesday, September 30 – 6:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Francine J. Harris New Book: Here is the Sweet Hand on Zoom
Join us on Wenesday, September 30th at 6pm PDT when francine j. harris joins us to read from her new collection, Here is the Sweet Hand on Zoom! Zoom Login Info Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83537126052 Webinar ID: 835 3712 6052 Praise for Here is ...
Author Virtual Talk: Benjamin Bac Sierra & Luis Rodriguez (Latino Heritage Month SFPL)
Wednesday, September 30 – 7:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Author Virtual Talk: Benjamin Bac Sierra & Luis Rodriguez (Latino Heritage Month SFPL)
In conjunction with iVIVA!: Latino Heritage Month SFPL is honored to host Benjamin Bac Sierra as our On the Same Page author. We will celebrate this local author, educator, poet, activist and Mission District native. Bac Sierra’s new book Pura Neta, the long awaited sequel ...

Thursday, October 1

Zoetrope Magazine Fall Issue Celebration with City Lights
Thursday, October 1 – 6:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Event is free but registration is required
| City Lights LIVE! Virtual Events
Zoetrope Magazine Fall Issue Celebration with City Lights
City Lights celebrates the award winning literary periodical’s fall issue. Editor Michael Ray and Managing Editor Manjula Martin are joined by several contributors in an afternoon of readings and celebration. Register here: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/zoetrope-magazine-fall-issue-celebration-tickets-119507386811

Friday, October 2

Zoom Event: Yamile Saied Méndez “Furia”
Friday, October 2 – 6:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Zoom Event: Yamile Saied Méndez "Furia"
Join us on Friday, October 2nd at 6pm PDT, when Yamile Saied Méndez dicusses her YA debut novel, Furia, on Zoom! Zoom Login Info Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82109506823 Webinar ID: 821 0950 6823 About Furia A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet ...

Saturday, October 3

Reads for the Resistance: A Book Club for Creatives
Saturday, October 3 – 9:00 am | Cost: FREE
Reads for the Resistance: A Book Club for Creatives

In a time where there are ongoing injustices committed against marginalized communities, we must craft a theology that centers justice and solidarity with the oppressed. Historical frameworks of Christianity that have been built on white supremacy and colonialism cannot help us move towards justice. We ...Every Saturday

2020 “Bikes to Books” Literary Adventure Ride | SoMa to North Beach
Saturday, October 3 – 1:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Registration required. Bring bikes with gears, snacks, and enthusiasm.
| Jack London St
2020 "Bikes to Books" Literary Adventure Ride | SoMa to North Beach
Celebrate seven years of Bikes to Books with the October anniversary ride. The resulting 7.1-mile tour is a diverting and unique way to celebrate both the literary and the adventurous spirit of San Francisco. Learn about the authors and neighborhoods that made San Francisco a known ...

Monday, October 5

Aarti Namdev Shahani “Here We Are” via Zoom
Monday, October 5 – 7:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Aarti Namdev Shahani "Here We Are" via Zoom
Join us on Monday, October 5 at 7pm PST when Aarti Namdev Shahani discusses her memoir, Here We Are, on Zoom! Zoom Login Info Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81346922046 Or iPhone one-tap : US: +16699009128,,81346922046# or +12532158782,,81346922046# Or Telephone: Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on ...

Tuesday, October 6

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM Presents Frank Wilderson III: Afropessimism
Tuesday, October 6 – 7:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Suggested Donation $5-$20.
| Online webinar
KPFA Radio 94.1 FM Presents Frank Wilderson III: Afropessimism
KPFA Radio 94.1 FM presents a webinar FRANK WILDERSON III AFROPESSIMISM with Davey D In the tradition of Edward Said’s Orientalism and Franz Fanon’s Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is a brilliant account of the experience of being black. The black radical tradition has drawn upon the term as ...
Virtual Reading & Discussion w/ Robert Duncan (Author of Loudmouth)
Tuesday, October 6 – 7:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Virtual Reading & Discussion w/ Robert Duncan (Author of Loudmouth)
Three Rooms Press and Green Apple Books present the Official West Coast Launch for LOUDMOUTH, a novel, featuring reading, discussion, and music by author Robert Duncan, former editor of Creem magazine, plus special guest Gary Wilson, experimental musician and performance artist. The event will be held via ...

Wednesday, October 7

Poets Virtual Event feat. Kazim Ali, Gillian Conoley, & Brian Teare
Wednesday, October 7 – 7:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Poets Virtual Event feat. Kazim Ali, Gillian Conoley, & Brian Teare
Join us on Wednesday, October 7th at 7pm PST when Kazim Ali is joined by poets Gillian Conoley and Brian Teare to celebrate his new collection, The Voice of Sheila Chandra! Zoom Login Info Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84685235176Or iPhone one-tap : US: +16699009128,,84685235176# ...

Thursday, October 8

Neal Karlen – This Thing Called Life: Prince’s Odyssey On+Off the Record on Zoom
Thursday, October 8 – 6:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Neal Karlen - This Thing Called Life: Prince's Odyssey On+Off the Record on Zoom
Join us on Thursday, October 8 at 6pm PDT when Neal Karlen joins us to discuss his book, This Thing Called Life: Prince’s Odyssey On+Off the Record on Zoom! Signed bookplates available while supplies last! Preorder now! Zoom Login Info Please click the link below to join the ...
Patti Smith “Year of the Monkey” – Intimate Evening of Virtual Reading & Music
Patti Smith "Year of the Monkey" - Intimate Evening of Virtual Reading & Music
Bay Area Book Festival in conjunction with City Lights Booksellers present, Extraordinary Dreamer: Patti Smith on “Year of the Monkey.” Patti Smith in an intimate evening of reading and music celebrating the paperback release of YEAR OF THE MONKEY. Tickets: $35

Friday, October 9

Shannon Lee & Jeff Chang Book Discussion via Zoom
Friday, October 9 – 7:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Shannon Lee & Jeff Chang Book Discussion via Zoom
Join us on Friday, October 9 at 7pm PDT when Shannon Lee, discusses her book, Be Water, My Friend: The Teachings of Bruce Lee, with author Jeff Chang on Zoom! Signed bookplates available while supplies last! Preorder now and be sure to write “signed” in your ...

Saturday, October 10

Reads for the Resistance: A Book Club for Creatives
Saturday, October 10 – 9:00 am | Cost: FREE
Reads for the Resistance: A Book Club for Creatives

In a time where there are ongoing injustices committed against marginalized communities, we must craft a theology that centers justice and solidarity with the oppressed. Historical frameworks of Christianity that have been built on white supremacy and colonialism cannot help us move towards justice. We ...Every Saturday

Virtual Conversation w/ Juan Felipe Herrera “Nation’s First Latino Poet Laureate”
Saturday, October 10 – 5:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Registration is required. Register here:
| City Lights LIVE! Virtual Event Series
Virtual Conversation w/ Juan Felipe Herrera "Nation's First Latino Poet Laureate"
Join Litquake and City Lights in celebrating the publication of Juan Felipe Herrera’s Every Day We Get More Illegal. Juan Felipe Herrera, the nation’s first Latino Poet Laureate, will be in conversation with Pulitzer Prize-winner Jericho Brown.

Monday, October 12

Green Apple Books Webinar: Caroline Kim “The Prince of Mournful Thoughts & Other Stories”
Monday, October 12 – 5:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Green Apple Books Webinar: Caroline Kim "The Prince of Mournful Thoughts & Other Stories"
Join us on Monday, October 12 at 5pm PST when Caroline Kim and Vanessa Hua read from their work to celebrate Caroline’s new collection, The Prince of Mournful Thoughts and Other Stories, on Zoom! Zoom Login Info Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87857330918 Or iPhone ...

Wednesday, October 14

Logic Books Virtual Festival
Logic Books Virtual Festival
City Lights in conjunction with Gray Area and FSG Originals present three days of discussion exploring the way we interact with technology and how it affects on our lives.

Friday, October 16

Women’s National Book Association: San Francisco Values (Zoom Discussion)
Friday, October 16 – 12:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*RSVP required.
While San Francisco is ground zero for global technological innovation, it is also renowned as being in the vanguard for a variety of cultural movements: literary, musical, and sports. And, San Francisco’s policies were among the first of all US cities to institute committed environmental ...

Saturday, October 17

Reads for the Resistance: A Book Club for Creatives
Saturday, October 17 – 9:00 am | Cost: FREE
Reads for the Resistance: A Book Club for Creatives

In a time where there are ongoing injustices committed against marginalized communities, we must craft a theology that centers justice and solidarity with the oppressed. Historical frameworks of Christianity that have been built on white supremacy and colonialism cannot help us move towards justice. We ...Every Saturday

Book Talk: Fashion & Wisdom Virtual Lecture from Chinatown’s Stylish Seniors.
Saturday, October 17 – 1:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Donations appreciated
| Oakland Asian Cultural Center
Book Talk: Fashion & Wisdom Virtual Lecture from Chinatown's Stylish Seniors.
Fashion and wisdom from Chinatown’s most stylish seniors. Chinatown Pretty features beautiful portraits and heartwarming stories of trend-setting seniors across six Chinatowns located in San Francisco, Oakland, Los Angeles, Chicago, New York City, and Vancouver. Andria Lo and Valerie Luu have been interviewing and photographing Chinatown’s ...
John Freeman’s Virtual Journal “Best New Writings on Love”
Saturday, October 17 – 5:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Event is free, but registration is required. Register here: https://litquake2020festival.sched.com/event/dlQi
| City Lights LIVE! Virtual Event Series
John Freeman's Virtual Journal "Best New Writings on Love"
John Freeman celebrates the latest installment of the journal that is called “a powerful force in the literary world” (Los Angeles Times.) Freeman’s turns to one of the greatest elevating forces of life: love. He will be joined by with Robin Coste Lewis, Tommy Orange, ...

Tuesday, October 20

Gary Kamiya w/ Paul Modanna Virtual Book Discussion
Gary Kamiya w/ Paul Modanna Virtual Book Discussion
Gary Kamiya with Paul Modanna, celebrating their new book, Spirits of San Francisco: Voyages through the Unknown City.