Home » In Person, Live Music, Online

“Emigres & Exiles in Hollywood: Encore” at Berkeley Piano Club

Dang! This event has already taken place.
>> Want to see our Top Picks for this week instead?
Saturday, June 18, 2022 - 7:30 pm to 9:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Online free; in person $5-30 with student and senior discounts

Berkeley Piano Club, | 2724 Haste Street, Berkeley, CA 94704

Event Details

Sat, June 18, 2022, 7:30-9pm Pacific, in person and online

Back by popular demand: E4TT will bring its 14th Season to an exciting close with a hybrid performance at the Berkeley Piano Club AND online on Saturday, June 18, with “Emigres & Exiles in Hollywood: Encore!” a reprise of a some of the favorites from E4TT’s much-loved multi-year exploration of composers who fled Europe in the 1930s and ’40s and became known for establishing today’s “Hollywood” sound, along with Polish composers of the same era.

Featuring chamber works and film arrangements by emigre film and/or Polish composers:

Hungarian-American Miklos Rozsa (1907-1995, “Ben Hur”);
Austrian-American prodigy Erich Korngold (1897-1957,” The Adventures of Robin Hood”);
German-American Franz Waxman (1906-1967, “The Bride of Frankenstein”).
Polish-French Alexandre Tansman (1897-1986, “Paris Underground”);
Polish-American Bronislaw Kaper (1902-1983, “Mutiny on the Bounty,”);
Polish-American Henryk Vars (902-1977, “The Big Heat”);
Auschwitz survivor Szymon Laks (1901-1983);
Grazyna Bacewicz (1909-1969);
Warsaw ghetto survivor Andre Tchaikowsky (1935-1982);
Polish-Russian composer Mieczys?aw Weinberg (1919-1996);
doubly-exiled Austrian Hanns Eisler (1898-1962, “None But the Lonely Heart”), to texts by Bertolt Brecht;
Musicians: soprano Nanette McGuinness, cellist Abigail Monroe, pianist Margaret Halbig

The concert will be performed at the Berkeley Piano Club for attendance in person by socially distanced, vaccinated, masked attendees. For those who are more distant, prefer not to attend in person or are unvaccinated, the concert will be live-streamed on YouTube.

Tickets fully refundable up to one day before concert.

E4TT’s 2021/22 home season is supported by a grant from the San Francisco Arts Commission, and sponsored, in part, by a grant from The Ross McKee Foundation. This activity is supported in part by the California Arts Council, a state agency. Learn more at www.arts.ca.gov.

Presented by Ensemble for These Times

Disclaimer: Please double check event information with the event organizer as events can be canceled, details can change after they are added to our calendar, and errors do occur.

Cost: FREE*
*Online free; in person $5-30 with student and senior discounts
Categories: In Person, Live Music, Online
Venue: Berkeley Piano Club,
Address: 2724 Haste Street, Berkeley, CA 94704