Home » *Top Pick*, Online, Political Activism, Protests / Causes

NAACP’s 2020 Virtual March on Washington – “The March”

Dang! This event has already taken place.
>> Want to see our Top Picks for this week instead?
Friday, August 28, 2020 - 8:00 am to 12:00 pm | Cost: FREE


NAACP’s 2020 Virtual March on Washington

Come join the NAACP and partners for the 2020 Virtual March on Washington for racial justice which seeks to channel the soaring energy from America’s national moment of reckoning and calls for reforms of the systems, structures, policies, and attitudes that enable police brutality, racial discrimination, and interpersonal racism.

THE CALL: Thursday, August 27, 5 PM – 7 PM PT (8 PM – 10 PM ET)

THE MARCH: Friday, August 28, 8 AM – noon PT (11 AM – 3 PM ET)

THE CHARGE: Friday, August 28, 6 PM – 8 PM PT (9 PM – 11 PM ET)

For generations, African Americans in this country have faced an anti-Black pandemic. From the unjust killings of innocent African Americans to the disproportionate impact of a global health pandemic, Black people have been getting attacked on all fronts. This moment has exposed the inequities embedded in the underlying fabric of our nation.

The NAACP will be holding this 2020 Virtual March on Washington on the 57th anniversary of the historic March on Washington, where the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. delivered his “I Have a Dream” speech, and the now late Congressman John Lewis proclaimed, “We want our freedom and we want it now!”

The NAACP will lead this virtual march alongside civil rights leaders, activists, and families
of those who died at the hands of law enforcement, to call for police accountability reform and mobilize voters ahead of the November elections. This virtual march will be in partnership with the socially distant, in-person march planned for those in the D.C. area.

As thousands virtually march on Washington to restore and recommit to the dream, this one
of a kind event will set forth a bold new Black agenda. The NAACP will also execute a robust
civic engagement effort with multiple levers of change, including registering participants to vote and encouraging them to participate in the Census.

This virtual grassroots mobilization will drive the movement from protest to policy to power!

Text ‘POWER’ to 40649

PARTNERS:

NAACP
NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund (LDF)
National Action Network
National Coalition on Black Civic Participation
National Urban League
Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights
The Leadership Conference

Press Release: https://www.naacp.org/latest/naacp-announces-virtual-march-washington-channel-momentum-police-accountability-voter-mobilizatio/

Disclaimer: Please double check event information with the event organizer as events can be canceled, details can change after they are added to our calendar, and errors do occur.


Event Details


Cost: FREE
Categories: *Top Pick*, Online, Political Activism, Protests / Causes

Facebook comments: