Home » Events by Neighborhood & Region

Sunset District

Thursday, April 2

POSTPONED: 2020 Stern Grove Festival Announcement | April 2nd
Thursday, April 2 – All Day | Cost: FREE*
*Free, but donations are appreciated
| Stern Grove
POSTPONED: 2020 Stern Grove Festival Announcement | April 2nd
UPDATE: Due to Coronavirus concerns, this season announcement has been postponed for 2020. A new date will be announced so please check their website for updates. Stern Grove Festival’s 82nd Season of free concerts will run every Sunday from June 14 through August 16, 2020. Look for ...

Saturday, April 4

2020 Irish-American Crossroads Festival | Final Day
Saturday, April 4 – 1:00 pm | Cost: FREE | United Irish Cultural Center
2020 Irish-American Crossroads Festival | Final Day
Join the 10th annual beloved event honoring the life histories of participants in The Irish Oral History Archive of the San Francisco Bay Area, a project of Crossroads Irish-American Festival. Bring the whole family.

Wednesday, April 8

CANCELED: “All I Ever Wanted” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Wednesday, April 8 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
CANCELED: "All I Ever Wanted" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
UPDATE: Due to COVID-19 concerns, this event has been canceled. Join Kathy Valentine, bassist for The Go-Go’s, discusses her new memoir “All I Ever Wanted” on Wednesday, April 8, 2020 at 7:30 pm About All I Ever Wanted: Go-Go’s bassist Kathy Valentine’s story is a roller coaster of ...

Wednesday, April 15

“Our Riches” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Wednesday, April 15 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"Our Riches" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Join Algerian author Kaouther Adimi discusses his new novel “Our Riches” on Wednesday, April 15, 2020 at 7:30 pm. Sponsored by the Cultural Services of the French Embassy. Praise for Our Riches “An understated, lyrical story of reading and resistance over the tumultuous generations.”—Kirkus Reviews (Starred) “Adimi’s confident prose ...

Wednesday, April 22

“Sharks in the Time of Saviors” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Wednesday, April 22 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"Sharks in the Time of Saviors" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Join Kawai Strong Washburn discusses his debut novel “Sharks in the Time of Saviors” on Wednesday, April 22, 2020 at 7:30 pm. About Sharks in the Time of Saviors: In 1995 Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, on a rare family vacation, seven-year-old Nainoa Flores falls overboard a cruise ship into ...

Tuesday, May 5

Ottessa Moshfegh’s “Death in Her Hands” Discussion | Green Apple Books
Tuesday, May 5 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
Ottessa Moshfegh's "Death in Her Hands" Discussion | Green Apple Books
Ottessa Moshfegh discusses her new novel Death in Her Hands. Praise for Death in Her Hands “When it comes to evoking the jagged edge of contemporary anxiety there might not be a more insightful writer working today than Moshfegh. That is, if the boundless dark potential of ...

Sunday, May 10

2020 Inner Sunset Flea Mother’s Day Street Fair | Kick Off
Sunday, May 10 – All Day | Cost: FREE | 9th and Irving
2020 Inner Sunset Flea Mother's Day Street Fair | Kick Off

Join the Inner Sunset Flea on the second Sunday of the month from May to November 2020. Come hunt for a bargain, sit down for some food, let the children play, and catch up with friends and neighbors. The festive family-friendly monthly flea market features vintage ...Monthly

Tuesday, May 12

“Urban Playground” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Tuesday, May 12 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"Urban Playground" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Join Katie Burke discusses her new book Urban Playground: What Kids Say about Living in San Francisco on Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 7:30 pm. About Urban Playground: Rural areas cover 97 percent of the United States–yet more than 80 percent of the US population lives in ...

Wednesday, May 13

“The New American” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Wednesday, May 13 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"The New American" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Join Micheline Aharonian Marcom discusses her new novel “The New American” with Sara Campos on Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 7:30 pm. About The New American: In this timely and emotionally powerful novel, award-winning author Micheline A. Marcom recounts the epic journey of a young Guatemalan-American college ...

Tuesday, May 19

“The Idea of Perfection” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Tuesday, May 19 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"The Idea of Perfection" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Nathaniel Rudavsky-Brody discusses his translation of The Idea of Perfection: The Poetry and Prose of Paul Valéry. About The Idea of Perfection: A fresh look into the monumental work of Paul Valéry, one of the major French literary figures of the twentieth century. Heir to Mallarmé and the ...

Tuesday, May 26

Phuc Tran: Sigh, Gone Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Tuesday, May 26 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
Phuc Tran: Sigh, Gone Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Phuc Tran discusses his new memoir Sigh, Gone: A Misfit’s Memoir of Great Books, Punk Rock, and the Fight to Fit In. About Sigh, Gone: For anyone who has ever felt like they don’t belong, Sigh, Gone shares an irreverent, funny, and moving tale of displacement and ...

Wednesday, June 3

“Cuppy & Stew” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Wednesday, June 3 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"Cuppy & Stew" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
On June 3rd, join Eric Goodman for a discussion of his new novel “Cuppy and Stew.” About Cuppy and Stew: In November, 1955, a young man in Denver, Colorado, hid twenty-five sticks of dynamite and a crude timer in his mother’s suitcase. In what the FBI would ...

Sunday, June 14

Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair
Sunday, June 14 – All Day | Cost: FREE | 9th and Irving
Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair

Join the Inner Sunset Flea on the second Sunday of the month from May to November 2020. Come hunt for a bargain, sit down for some food, let the children play, and catch up with friends and neighbors. The festive family-friendly monthly flea market features vintage ...Monthly

2020 Stern Grove Festival Kick-Off Concert | SF
Sunday, June 14 – All Day | Cost: FREE*
*Free, but donations are appreciated
| Stern Grove
2020 Stern Grove Festival Kick-Off Concert | SF

The Stern Grove Festival returns for its 82nd season having presented free concerts in the park every summer since 1938. If you don’t mind arriving early to spread out your blanket to stake your spot, it’s an excellent way to spend a relaxing Sunday in a beautiful ...

Tuesday, June 16

“A Burning” Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
Tuesday, June 16 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"A Burning" Book Discussion | Green Apple Books
On June 16th, join Megha Majumdar as she discusses her debut novel A Burning. About A Burning: For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise–to the middle class, to political power, to fame ...

Wednesday, June 24

“The Inner Coast” New Essay Collection Discussion | Green Apple Books
Wednesday, June 24 – 7:30 pm | Cost: FREE | Green Apple Books on the Park
"The Inner Coast" New Essay Collection Discussion | Green Apple Books
On June 24th, join Donovan Hohn for the discussion of his new essay collection “The Inner Coast.” About The Inner Coast: Prize-winning essays on our changing place in the natural world by the best-selling author of Moby-Duck. Writing in the grand American tradition of Annie Dillard and Barry ...

Sunday, July 12

Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair
Sunday, July 12 – All Day | Cost: FREE | 9th and Irving
Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair

Join the Inner Sunset Flea on the second Sunday of the month from May to November 2020. Come hunt for a bargain, sit down for some food, let the children play, and catch up with friends and neighbors. The festive family-friendly monthly flea market features vintage ...Monthly

Sunday, August 9

Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair
Sunday, August 9 – All Day | Cost: FREE | 9th and Irving
Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair

Join the Inner Sunset Flea on the second Sunday of the month from May to November 2020. Come hunt for a bargain, sit down for some food, let the children play, and catch up with friends and neighbors. The festive family-friendly monthly flea market features vintage ...Monthly

Sunday, August 16

Stern Grove Festival 2020 Finale | SF
Sunday, August 16 – All Day | Cost: FREE*
*Donations appreciated
| Stern Grove
Stern Grove Festival 2020 Finale | SF

The Stern Grove Festival returns for its 82nd season having presented free concerts in the park every summer since 1938. If you don’t mind arriving early to spread out your blanket to stake your spot, it’s an excellent way to spend a relaxing Sunday in a beautiful ...

Sunday, September 13

Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair
Sunday, September 13 – All Day | Cost: FREE | 9th and Irving
Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair

Join the Inner Sunset Flea on the second Sunday of the month from May to November 2020. Come hunt for a bargain, sit down for some food, let the children play, and catch up with friends and neighbors. The festive family-friendly monthly flea market features vintage ...Monthly

Sunday, October 11

Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair
Sunday, October 11 – All Day | Cost: FREE | 9th and Irving
Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair

Join the Inner Sunset Flea on the second Sunday of the month from May to November 2020. Come hunt for a bargain, sit down for some food, let the children play, and catch up with friends and neighbors. The festive family-friendly monthly flea market features vintage ...Monthly

Sunday, November 8

Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair
Sunday, November 8 – All Day | Cost: FREE | 9th and Irving
Inner Sunset Flea 2020 | Block Party & Street Fair

Join the Inner Sunset Flea on the second Sunday of the month from May to November 2020. Come hunt for a bargain, sit down for some food, let the children play, and catch up with friends and neighbors. The festive family-friendly monthly flea market features vintage ...Monthly