Home » *Top Pick*, Live Music, Online

San Francisco Contemporary Music Players “Postscript to the Future”

Dang! This event has already taken place.
>> Want to see our Top Picks for this week instead?
Saturday, April 10, 2021 - 8:00 pm to 9:00 pm | Cost: $10*
*Tickets range from $5 to $15

Program 1 premieres SAT, APR 10 @8PM Pacific and is available on demand through MAY 10 and Program 2 premieres SAT, JULY 10 @8PM Pacific and is available on demand through AUG 10, 2021.

This year’s at the CROSSROADS series reflects an ongoing exploration of music that exists in the innovative realms of cross-genre connectivity. The Contemporary Players join their trans-Atlantic compatriots at Ensemble Intercontemporain by co-commissioning a new work from NYC-based composer and multi-instrumentalist Tyshawn Sorey, whose fluency across stylistic streams has distinguished him as one of the most compelling voices in contemporary music today. Connecting the threads to a figure that Sorey has long considered a key inspiration for his work, we spotlight the life and legacy of composer and longtime Bay Area resident Olly Wilson, a close friend and collaborator of the Contemporary Players for years. Jazz-trained cellist and composer Tomeka Reid joins the conversation, along with the premiere of our annual SF Search for Scores winning composition, framing an emerging generation of composers whose work launches out on divergent paths along the same cross-genre trajectories.

PostScript to the Future

Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 8:00 pm Pacific online premiere and available on demand for 30 days

Josiah Tayaq Catalan, unravel*
Allegra Chapman, piano
*Winner, SF Search for Scores 2020

Olly Wilson, Echoes
for clarinet and electronics
Jeff Anderle, clarinet

Sat, July 10, 2021, 8:00 pm Pacific online premiere and available on demand for 30 days

Tomeka Reid, Prospective Dwellers
for string quartet

Tyshawn Sorey, For Olly Woodrow Wilson, Jr. (In Memoriam)* co-commission with Ensemble Intercontemporain / *U.S. premiere
Flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, timpani +1 percussion, piano, harp, 2 violin, viola, cello, double bass

Olly Wilson, A City Called Heaven
Flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, viola, cello

Presented by San Francisco Contemporary Music Players

Disclaimer: Please double check event information with the event organizer as events can be canceled, details can change after they are added to our calendar, and errors do occur.

Event Details

Cost: $10*
*Tickets range from $5 to $15
Categories: *Top Pick*, Live Music, Online

Facebook comments: