Home » City Guide »

Rip Curl Pro Search

See the world’s best surfers tackle the waves of Ocean Beach on the 2011 ASP World Tour | Nov 1-12
By - posted 10/31/2011 No Comment

Ocean Beach gets ready to host the best surfers in the world as the 2011 Rip Curl Pro Search comes to San Francisco for the ASP World Tour.

The event runs for a 12-day waiting period (November 1-12, 2011) during which the organizers will wait for the best surf and weather conditions and pick the best four full days for competition.

> Are they surfing today? Check in at 7:30am each morning to find out if the conditions are good enough for a run day.

Rip Curl Pro Search
November 1-12, 2011 (The four best surfing days)
Ocean Beach, SF
Stairway 18-20 , or Kelly’s Cove

>> Can’t make it to Ocean Beach? Live webcast on live.ripcurl.com

Who Competes?
The Top 34 surfers on the ASP World Tour and two event wildcards round out the 36-man field. The nation’s Top 16 junior surfers will also be there to contest the Rip Curl Gromsearch National Final. Invited surfers include 11-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (AUS), 39, Australians Mick Fanning (AUS), 29, Joel Parkinson (AUS), 30, and Taj Burrow (AUS), 32, as well as the new guard including Jordy Smith (ZAF), 23, Dane Reynolds (USA), 25, Adriano de Souza (BRA)

Site Locations
Primary Site: Stairway 18-20 (near Fulton). Secondary site (if conditions are bad at the main site) Kelly’s Cove at Stairway 1 (near the Cliff House) only if the surf, conditions and or sand bars (which makes the wave take better shape) are much better than the main site.

Every morning by 7:30am it will be decided to either run for an approximate 8am start or go on standby for a possible later start or call the event off for the day. . The latest contest call information can be found in the status bar of the live.ripcurl.com homepage.

Run Days
If the surf and conditions are favorable, the event will be called on by 7:30am for approximate 8am start, or soon after. If conditions stay clean, the contest will continue to run until 4pm or if/when conditions start to deteriorate.

Round 1 Match-ups
Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA), Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), John John Florence (HAW), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Dusty Payne (HAW), Tom Whitaker (AUS)
Heat 5: Owen Wright (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Dillon Perillo (USA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Kai Otton (AUS), Dean Brady (AUS)
Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 10: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 11: Mick Fanning (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Chris Davidson (AUS)
Heat 12: Josh Kerr (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA)