Home » East Bay, Literature

Pen Oakland 20th Annual Literary Awards | Oakland

Dang! This event has already taken place.
>> Want to see our Top Picks for this week instead?
Saturday, December 11, 2010 - 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm | Cost: FREE

Event Details

The 20th Annual PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles National Literary Awards ceremony, followed by a reception and book signings, features Don Perata, former state Senate President Pro Tempore, as the keynote speaker.

The 2010 PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Literary Award winners are (for books published in 2009):

  • Clifton Ross. Translations from Silence: New and Selected Poems. Freedom Voices. (poetry)
  • Elizabeth Nunez. Anna In-Between. Akashic Press. (fiction)
  • Etel Adnan. Master of the Eclipse. Interlink Publishing Group. (fiction)
  • Manuel Ruben Delgado. The Last Chicano. Authorhouse Publications. (memoir)
  • Andrena Zawinski. Something About. Blue Light Press/First World Publishing. (poetry)
  • Maria Espinosa. Dying Unfinished. Wings Press. (fiction/memoir)
  • Mitch Horowitz. Occult America: The Secret History of How Mysticism Shaped Our Nation. Bantam. (non-fiction)
  • Ivan J. Houston. Black Warriors: The Buffalo Soldiers of World War II: Memories of the Only Negro Infantry Division to Fight in Europe. iUniverse. (non-fiction)
  • Journalist Richard Prince is the winner of the 2010 Censorship Award.
  • Satirist Paul Krassner and the late author and publisher Vance Bourjaily will each receive Lifetime Achievement Award.

PEN Oakland, dubbed “the blue collar PEN” by the New York Times, is a chapter of PEN International. PEN Oakland annually sponsors the PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Book Awards, named for the late poet and faculty member of U.C. Berkeley’s English Department.

Disclaimer: Please double check event information with the event organizer as events can be canceled, details can change after they are added to our calendar, and errors do occur.

Cost: FREE
Categories: East Bay, Literature