Home » East Bay, Live Music

SF Chamber Orchestra Free Concert: Bach’s Dance Suites | Berkeley

Dang! This event has already taken place.
>> Want to see our Top Picks for this week instead?
Sunday, February 24, 2013 - 3:00 pm to 5:00 pm | Cost: FREE
First Congregational Church (Berkeley) | 2345 Channing Way, Berkeley, CA

Event Details

Free San Francisco Chamber Orchestra Concerts

Founded in 1953, the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra has remained an active voice in the Bay Area music community, presenting free concerts with an ensemble of the region’s top professional musicians.

The rollout of an exciting new concert format, Maestro Ben Simon becomes your host for a 90-minute, no intermission podcast. Think of it as a cross between Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me and From the Top with games, prizes, Ben’s famous trivia quiz, and of course, great music.

Featuring a host of SFCO All-Stars, this engaging program will feature variations on familiar themes by Mozart, Haydn, Schubert, and more. With special guest Anthony Lane, luthier.

Free admission. Members entry one hour before. General audience entry 15 minutes before. Recommended for middle school-age and up.

Mozart 12 Variations on “Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman” K.265

  • Keisuke Nakagoshi, piano

Haydn String Quartet in C Major, op. 76 no.3 (“Emperor”)

  • Palo Alto Chamber Orchestra string quartet
  • Second movement, Poco adagio; cantabile

Schubert Die Forelle (“The Trout”)

  • Ann Moss, soprano
  • Keisuke Nakagoshi, piano

Schubert Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667 (“Trout”)

  • Fourth movement: Tema con variazione (Andantino)

Heidrich Happy Birthday Variations

Sunday, February 24, 2013
Berkeley | Free San Francisco Chamber Orchestra Concerts

Featuring the fabulous strings of the SFCO, this program opens with a suite of dances by the Baroque master J.S. Bach, followed by the world premiere of a new guitar concerto from rising young composer Michael Gilbertson, whose Concertino for Oboe and Strings was a big hit on the Orchestra’s 2008–2009 season.

The concertmaster Robin Sharp takes center stage to perform a miniature masterpiece by one of this country’s most influential contemporary composers, Pulitzer-Prize winner John Corigliano, and this program ends with the ever-popular Holberg Suite from the great Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg.

Dance Suite Program:

  • Johann Sebastian Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067
  • Michael Gilbertson: Concerto for Guitar & String Orchestra [SFCO Commission & World Premiere]
  • John Corigliano: Voyage for Solo Violin & String Orchestra
  • Edvard Grieg: Holberg Suite

Featured performers include:

  • Ben Pila, guitar
  • Benjamin Simon, conductor
  • Ben Pila, guitar
  • Robin Sharp, violin

Disclaimer: Please double check event information with the event organizer as events can be canceled, details can change after they are added to our calendar, and errors do occur.

Cost: FREE
Categories: East Bay, Live Music
Address: 2345 Channing Way, Berkeley, CA