Home » *Top Pick*, Literature, Online

Virtual Green Apple Book Talk: Jamie Figueroa & Marie-Helene Bertino

Thursday, March 4, 2021 - 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm | Cost: FREE


Join us on Thursday, March 4th at 6pm PT when Jamie Figueroa is joined by Marie-Helene Bertino to discuss her debut novel, Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer, on Zoom!

Zoom Login Info
Please click the link below to join the webinar:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81822157575

Praise for Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer

“Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer is so full of voice. It is utterly bright and original.”—Tommy Orange, author of There There

“Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer is a haunting of a novel centered around the hustle of an utterly unforgettable brother and sister. Jamie Figueroa’s faultless language surprises, enchants, and does nothing less than articulate that which is unseen and eaten by profound grief. Supervised by a wild, booted angel (a character for the ages), this marvel of a first novel seems powered by a force that wrecks itself and is made glorious, again and again, until its stunning conclusion. Singular, devastating, and divine.”—Marie-Helene Bertino, author of Parakeet

“In language that is blade-sharp and sun-bright, Jamie Figueroa weaves a story of generations of love and loss that is powerful and aching and utterly new. Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer will never, ever leave me.”—Ramona Ausubel, author of Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty and No One Is Here Except All of Us

“Jamie Figueroa’s writing is decadent. Sentences in this book require the reader to breathe and sigh with the revelation of their beauty; others slap you in the face with their sharp assumptiveness. Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer begins in prayer and does what prayer does—gives us hope, reveals our deepest griefs, and sometimes even redeems.”—Tiphanie Yanique, author of Land of Love and Drowning

About Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer

A fableistic, “curious and dazzling” debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (Booklist, starred review).

In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their mother’s passing, two siblings spend a final weekend together in their childhood home. Seeing her brother, Rafa, careening toward a place of no return, Rufina devises a bet: if they can make enough money performing for privileged tourists in the plaza over the course of the weekend to afford a plane ticket out, Rafa must commit to living. If not, Rufina will make her peace with Rafa’s own plan for the future, however terrifying it may be.

As the siblings reckon with generational and ancestral trauma, set against the indignities of present-day prejudice, other strange hauntings begin to stalk these pages: their mother’s ghost kicks her heels against the walls; Rufina’s vanished child creeps into her arms at night; and above all this, watching over the siblings, a genderless, flea-bitten angel remains hell-bent on saving what can be saved.

Disclaimer: Please double check event information with the event organizer as events can be canceled, details can change after they are added to our calendar, and errors do occur.


Event Details


Cost: FREE
Categories: *Top Pick*, Literature, Online

Thursday, March 4, 2021

7:00 am   San Francisco Performances Beethoven Concert  FREE*
*Free online.
9:00 am   “ChickTech” Event: Pivoting to Data Careers: Insights from DISQO  FREE
12:00 pm   SF Public Library: Celeste-Marie Bernier, Judith Butler & Isaac Julien in Conversation  FREE*
*Free Event, Registration Required
12:00 pm   SF Public Library Talk on Legacy of Frederick Douglass  FREE*
*Free Event, Registration Required
12:00 pm   SF Public Library’s Women’s History Month in Conversation  FREE*
*Free with registration.
12:00 pm   Storytellers on Schizophrenia  FREE*
*Register on Eventbrite
6:00 pm   How to Build an ADU in Healdsburg (w/ Local City Planning & Building Staff)  FREE
6:00 pm   Virtual Green Apple Book Talk: Jamie Figueroa & Marie-Helene Bertino  FREE
6:00 pm   “Project Open Hand” Ruth Brinker Book Celebration  FREE*
*Registration Required
7:00 pm   Thu 7p Show – “HellaSecret” Outdoor Comedy Show & Cocktail Night (SF)  $15*
*Get $5 off Tickets - Early Bird tickets $15 adv w/ code FUNCHEAP (otherwise $20). General Admission tickets $20 adv with code FUNCHEAP (otherwise $25) - limited to 40 tickets due to maintain social-distance. There is a two drink minimum
7:00 pm   On the Therapeutic Applications of Ketamine  FREE*
*$20- Suggested Donation
7:00 pm   Exploratorium “After Dark Online” Art + Science  FREE*
*Not Specified
7:00 pm   Classical Bach Harpsichord Concert w/ Mahan Esfahani  $15*
*$15 for a single viewer, $30 for two viewers, and $60 per household viewing. $5 tickets are available for UC Berkeley students.
7:30 pm   Effects of Altered Wildfire Regimes on California Plant Diversity Webinar  FREE
7:30 pm   Thu 7:30p Show – “HellaSecret” Outdoor Comedy Show & Cocktail Night (Oakland)  $15*
*Get $5 off Tickets - Early Bird tickets $15 adv w/ code FUNCHEAP (otherwise $20). General Admission tickets $20 adv with code FUNCHEAP (otherwise $25) - limited to 40 tickets due to maintain social-distance. There is a two drink minimum
< Wednesday, March 3 Friday, March 5 >

Facebook comments: