Home » City Guide » Artsy Fartsy

Live Streaming & Virtual Concert Guide

Rock out in your PJs. Coldplay, Charli XCX, Diplo and more doing live streams
By - posted 3/19/2020 No Comment

Life sure does look different when we’re self-quarantined, but you don’t have to be without live music just because our bars and music venues are closed.

Musicians are staying home just like us, so many of them are turning on their webcams and hosting live streams creating virtual interactive concerts, and even live dance classes and workouts too, as a way to stay connected with their fans.

Also, it’s also pretty cool to see these musicians live from their home especially during this time of social distancing and self isolation.

Vulture has a great roundup (that they’re keeping up-to-date) of all of the musicians and artists who are letting you rock out from the comfort of your couch.

Highlights include:

  • Ben Gibbard from Death Cab For Cutie is performing live everyday on Facebook and Youtube for the next 2 weeks from his home studio in Washington.
  • Diplo is spinning live 90-minute DJ sets from his living room every night
  • Indigo Girls will perform live on Facebook with a Q&A on Thursday, March 19
  • Chris Martin (Coldplay) kicked off the livestream concert series Together, At Home: WHO-Global Citizen Solidarity Sessions. On Thursday, March 19, Niall Horan goes live on Instagram at 1 pm PST; Common’s performs live on Instagram at 2.30pm PST.
  • Willie Nelson‘s annual backyard concert, Luck Reunion, has been cancelled, but many of the artists have teamed up to present Til Further Notice, a live-streamed free music festival from the artists’ own homes on Thursday, March 19. Artists include Willie Nelson, Jewel, Lucinda Williams, Paul Simon & Edie Brickell, Nathaniel Rateliff, Margo Price and more. Fans can tune in to luckreunion.comTwitch or Facebook at any time between 4-9 pm PST.
  • Miley Cyrus is hosting a live stream show called “Bright Minded: Live with Miley” with special guests at 11:30 am PT Mon-Fri on Instagram
  • Charli XCX is hosting “self-isolating” Instagram livestream shows featuring an array of topics and activities everyday with special guests
    • Wednesday, March 18  – 5pm UK time / 9am PST – An Emo Chat w/ Christine and the Queens
    • Thursday, March 19 – 6pm UK time / 10am PST  – Personal Training w/ Diplo
    • Friday, March 20 – Time TBC – Girls Night In w/ Rita Ora
    • Saturday, March 21 – Time TBC – Would U Rather w/ Kim Petras
    • Sunday, March 22 – 8pm UK time / 12 noon PST – Art Class w/ Clairo

Past artists who have gotten on board with the livestream trend this week have included P!nk, Yo-Yo Ma, Keith Urban, John Legend, Dropkick Murphys, Chris Martin and even a live dance class from Debbie Allen and a group meditation led by Lizzo.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=237&v=YMBK9OfsKO4&feature=emb_logo

– Hat Tip: Billboard


Categories: Live Music

Facebook comments: