Home » Literature

Darius James’ Seminal Novel “Negrophobia: An Urban Parable” | City Lights Books

Dang! This event has already taken place.
>> Want to see our Top Picks for this week instead?
Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 5:00 pm | Cost: FREE
City Lights Books | 261 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA


Darius James’s scabrous, unapologetically raunchy, truly hilarious, and deeply scary Negrophobia is a wild-eyed reckoning with the mutating insanity of American racism. A screenplay for the mind, a performance on the page, a work of poetry, a mad mix of genres and styles, a novel in the tradition of William S. Burroughs and Ishmael Reed that is like no other novel, Negrophobia begins with the blonde bombshell Bubbles Brazil succumbing to a voodoo spell and entering the inner darkness of her own shiny being. Here crackheads parade in the guise of Muppets, Muslims beat conga drums, Negroes have numbers for names, and H. Rap Remus demands the total and instantaneous extermination of the white race through spontaneous combustion. By the end of it all, after going on a weird trip for the ages, Bubbles herself is strangely transformed.

Darius James is a writer and spoken-word performance artist. He is also the author of That’s Blaxploitation!: Roots of the Baadasssss ‘Tude (Rated X by an All-Whyte Jury); Voodoo Stew; and Froggie Chocolate’s Christmas Eve. His writing has appeared in multiple publications, including The Village Voice, Vibe, and Spin, and he is the co-writer and narrator of the 2012 film The United States of Hoodoo. He makes his home in Connecticut.


Free / Learn More


Cost: FREE
Categories: Literature
Address: 261 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA

Facebook comments: