Home » Archive by Author

Articles by Johnny Funcheap

Johnny is a self-described cheap-aholic who hunts down the free-er side of San Francisco. He loves street fairs, free concerts in the park, and anywhere that offers free food. Johnny has been featured on KQED's Forum, CBS's Eye on the Bay and is a contributor to the San Francisco Bay Guardian, KFOG and KGO 810 AM. Johnny is the founder of FunCheapSF.com

Tuesday, May 23

Free Guided Tours of 9th Circuit Court of Appeals | SF
Tuesday, May 23 – 1:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Free Guided Tours of 9th Circuit Court of Appeals | SF

Wednesday, May 24

Alamo Square Reopening Celebration | SF
Wednesday, May 24 – 11:00 am | Cost: FREE
Alamo Square Reopening Celebration | SF

Join in for a celebration event marking the completion of significant improvements to this iconic neighborhood park. Funded by the 2008 and 2012 Clean and Safe Neighbhorhood Park bonds as well as an irrigation improvement grant from the SF Public Utilities Commission.
The speaking program begins …

Thursday, May 25

Friday, May 26

Saturday, May 27

“Treasure Island Flea” 6th Birthday Party
Saturday, May 27 – 10:00 am | Cost: $3

Happy Birthday, Flea!
It’s been 6 years that the Treasure Island Flea has taken over the island with 400+ local artists, makers and designers and 15,000 people each month. There’s three full bars, DIY community workshops, carnival games,  25+ food trucks and pop-ups, local bands, …

Sunday, May 28

Free Sailboat Ride Day: Cal Sailing Club | Berkeley
Sunday, May 28 – 1:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Free Sailboat Ride Day: Cal Sailing Club | Berkeley

Tuesday, May 30

Thursday, June 1

Sunday, June 4

Tuesday, June 6

Free Admission Day: Museum of Craft and Design | Dogpatch
Tuesday, June 6 – 11:00 am | Cost: FREE
Free Admission Day: Museum of Craft and Design | Dogpatch

Thursday, June 8

Saturday, June 10

Final Day: Sony’s Future Playground “Innovation Lounge” | SF
Saturday, June 10 – 11:00 am | Cost: FREE
Final Day: Sony's Future Playground

Sunday, June 11

Inner Sunset Flea 2017 | Block Party & Street Fair
Sunday, June 11 – 11:00 am | Cost: FREE
Inner Sunset Flea 2017 | Block Party & Street Fair

Monday, June 12

Thursday, June 15

Saturday, June 17

50th Anniversary “Summer of Love” Art Show | SF City Hall
Saturday, June 17 – 5:30 pm | Cost: FREE
50th Anniversary

The San Francisco Arts Commission presents an extensive exhibition of work by legendary ’60s rock ‘n’ roll photographer Jim Marshall and a new Market Street poster series featuring contemporary perspectives on the Summer of Love by local artists.
As part of a citywide celebration of the 50th …