Home » Archive by Author

Articles by Johnny Funcheap

Johnny is a self-described cheap-aholic who hunts down the free-er side of San Francisco. He loves street fairs, free concerts in the park, and anywhere that offers free food. Johnny has been featured on KQED's Forum, CBS's Eye on the Bay and is a contributor to the San Francisco Bay Guardian, KFOG and KGO 810 AM. Johnny is the founder of FunCheapSF.com

Tuesday, April 25

Free Guided Tours of 9th Circuit Court of Appeals | SF
Tuesday, April 25 – 1:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Free Guided Tours of 9th Circuit Court of Appeals | SF
SF History Night: “Splendid Survivors of 1906” | Noe Valley
Tuesday, April 25 – 7:00 pm | Cost: $5*
*$5 for non-members; free for SFHA members
SF History Night:

Many people assume that the devastation caused by the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake and Fires was total, but a surprising number of buildings within the fire zone survived and are still with us today. Some burned but were rebuilt, while others survived unscathed. We walk …

Wednesday, April 26

Free Mural Workshop with a Tenderloin Legend | SF
Wednesday, April 26 – 4:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Free Mural Workshop with a Tenderloin Legend | SF

Thursday, April 27

Friday, April 28

2017 stARTup Art Fair: Motel-Turned-Epic Art Gallery | Hotel Del Sol 2017 stARTup Art Fair: Motel-Turned-Epic Art Gallery | Hotel Del Sol

San Francisco’s stARTup Art Fair is one of the most unique art shows you’re likely to ever encounter.
The entire hotel is shut down for three days, and instead of the hotel’s 47 rooms occupied by tourists, all the rooms are taken over by 50+ hand-picked artists and turned …

Win Tix: “The Encounter” VIP Tix: Premier Orchestra Seats & Drink Tickets | Curran
Friday, April 28 – 8:00 pm | Cost: WIN | Curran
Enter to Win

Complicite’s The Encounter is “one of the most immersive theater pieces ever created.” (New York Times) Simon McBurney’s solo performance traces a journey into the depths of the Amazon rainforest, using 3D audio technology to build an intimate and shifting world of sound. Each seat comes …

Saturday, April 29

Treasure Island Flea
Saturday, April 29 – 10:00 am | Cost: $3
Treasure Island Flea

Sunday, April 30

Free Play Arcade Game & Pinball: All-Day Sundays at Coin-Op | SoMa
Sunday, April 30 – 4:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Free Play Arcade Game & Pinball: All-Day Sundays at Coin-Op | SoMa

Tuesday, May 2

Free Admission Day: Museum of Craft and Design | Dogpatch
Tuesday, May 2 – 11:00 am | Cost: FREE
Free Admission Day: Museum of Craft and Design | Dogpatch

Wednesday, May 3

Free Mural Workshop with a Tenderloin Legend | SF
Wednesday, May 3 – 4:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Free Mural Workshop with a Tenderloin Legend | SF

Thursday, May 4

Friday, May 5

Saturday, May 6

Free Guided Trail & Nature Walk | Golden Gate Park
Saturday, May 6 – 10:00 am | Cost: FREE
Free Guided Trail & Nature Walk | Golden Gate Park

Sunday, May 7

Tuesday, May 9

Free Guided Tours of 9th Circuit Court of Appeals | SF
Tuesday, May 9 – 1:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Free Guided Tours of 9th Circuit Court of Appeals | SF

Wednesday, May 10

Free Mural Workshop with a Tenderloin Legend | SF
Wednesday, May 10 – 4:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Free Mural Workshop with a Tenderloin Legend | SF

Saturday, May 13

Sunday, May 14

Wednesday, May 17

The Final “Free Muralism Workshop” with Tenderloin Legend | SF
Wednesday, May 17 – 4:00 pm | Cost: FREE
The Final

Tuesday, May 23

Free Guided Tours of 9th Circuit Court of Appeals | SF
Tuesday, May 23 – 1:00 pm | Cost: FREE
Free Guided Tours of 9th Circuit Court of Appeals | SF