Home » Live Music, San Francisco

The “Real” Mendelssohn Octet Performance & Lecture | SFSU

Dang! This event has already taken place.
>> Want to see our Top Picks for this week instead?
Thursday, March 29, 2012 - 7:30 pm to 9:00 pm | Cost: FREE*
*Free with RSVP

San Francisco State University (Main) | 1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA

Event Details

The performance/lecture will feature the 1825 pre-publication version of Mendelssohn’s noted work, Opus 20, written when the composer was 16 years of age. The Octet’s original first movement, “Allegro molto e vivace” contains over 100 bars which were deleted and re-written by Mendelssohn upon publication of the work in 1832.

The Borromeo String Quartet is the first professional string quartet to use laptop computers. Instead of reading their parts perched on music stands, The Borromeo String Quartet and a quartet of young musicians will perform from Mendelssohn’s handwritten score, read from the screens of laptops, while the same manuscript is projected overhead for the benefit of the audience.

Free with RSVP.

Disclaimer: Please double check event information with the event organizer as events can be canceled, details can change after they are added to our calendar, and errors do occur.

Cost: FREE*
*Free with RSVP
Categories: Live Music, San Francisco
Address: 1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA