Home » City Guide » 4th of July, What's Closed / What's Open

Where to Buy Fireworks in San Francisco Bay Area | 2020

Pacifica, San Bruno, Union City, Dublin… Where it’s legal to buy fireworks in the Bay Area
By - posted 7/4/2020 No Comment

Don’t let the rocket’s red glare get you this Fourth of July weekend by not doing your homework on state and local regulations concerning legal and illegal fireworks.

Though the state of California allows for the sale of so-called “safe and sane” fireworks (like cone fountains, hand-held sparklers and smoke items – anything that that doesn’t fly or explode), residents are still subject to local restrictions, which may be even more stringent. Here is an example of what is sold in California which are typically restricted to sparklers and ground fireworks.

Where Fireworks are Banned

Bay Area residents need to be extra careful, as most cities, including San Mateo, Redwood City Berkeley, Oakland and San Francisco, have banned fireworks all together. So even if you buy them legally in another city, it is typically illegal to transport them back to your city and set them off.

Where you can Buy Legal Fireworks

There is now only one major company that operate fireworks stands in the few Bay Area cities that allow their sale. Find Bay Area Fireworks Stands: TNT Fireworks 

For 2020 you can buy fireworks Pacifica, San Bruno, Union City, Newark, Dublin, Rhonert Park, Suisun City, Watsonville, Gilroy, Tracey, Stockton

Where Fireworks are Allowed | Bay Areasee full list of cities

Among the 297 communities allowing “safe and sane” fireworks sales in California in 2020. But please not that each community may have their own guidelines and things can change if there’s drought conditions.

Updates for 2020
Petaluma St. Helena had both previously allowed the sales of fireworks, but no longer appear on the list of counties allowing fireworks for 2020.

Alameda County

  • Dublin
  • Newark
  • Union City

Napa County

  • St. Helena – No longer on list for 2020

San Benito County

  • Hollister
  • San Juan Bautista

San Mateo County

  • Pacifica
  • San Bruno

Santa Clara County

  • Gilroy

Santa Cruz County

  • Watsonville

Solano County

  • Dixon
  • Rio Vista
  • Suisun City

Sonoma County

  • Cloverdale
  • Petaluma – No Longer on list for 2020
  • Rohnert Park
  • Sebastopol

>> Full list of 297 communities allowing sale of fireworks in California in 2020


Categories: East Bay, Fairs & Festivals, North Bay, Peninsula, South Bay

Facebook comments: